EC suspends 231 MPs’ memberships

  • Rehman Malik, Khuwajha Asif, Amin Fahim, Ahmad Mukhtar, and PM Gilani's son Abdul Qadir Gilani are top on the list.

    SLAMABAD - What seems to be a part of a yearly symbolic exercise, the Election Commission of Pakistan on Friday suspended the membership of 231 lawmakers for not submitting details of their assets.

    Every year, the ECP suspends the membership of dozens of parliamentarians for not submitting the details of their assets, but they are restored back to their positions as and when they comply with the elections rules. Several federal ministers, including Interior Minister Rehman Malik, Finance Minister Hafeez Sheikh, Defence Minister Chaudhry Ahmed Mukhtar, Minister for Trade Amin Faheem, Riaz Hussain Pirzada, Manzoor Wattoo and Dr Asim Hussain are among those whose membership was suspended. Submitting assets details is mandatory requirement under Section 42A of the Representation of People ACT, 1976 and Section 25A of the Senate (Election, Act 1975), but despite the passage of the deadline (September 30) followed by unofficial grace period ended on October 15, the lawmakers still did not submit details of their assets and liabilities. According to the ECP, the suspended parliamentarians include Ghulam Bibi Bharwana, Sheikh Waqas, Khurram Dastagir, Rana Nazir Ahmad, Khawaja Asif, Khurram Jahangir Wattoo, Ghulam Farid Kathia, Awais Laghari, Jamshed Dasti and Fozia Wahab. The memberships of Prime Minsiter Yousaf Raza Gilani’s son Syed Abdul Qadir Gilani and PM’s brother Syed Ahmad Mujtaba Gilani were also suspended for not submitting their asset details. Pervaiz Rashid, Sardar Yar Muhammad Rind, Nabeel Gabol, Hamid Saeed Kazmi, Muhammad Ali Durrani, Arbab Ghulam Rahim, Mufti Kifayatullah, Rehmatullah Kakar, Attaur Rehman, Anjum Aqeel Khan and Khush Bakht Shujaat are also among those whose membership was suspended.’-membership/