Current implication

• Whats is the current implication of left-wing and right-wing politics in Pakistan?

• Dear Leen

To understand this you just need to focus on one thing

"Nato supply Line"

I hope it will clearify what you are looking for.

• @ajhons

I'm a student of IR. i'm working on a project based on left-wing and right-wing spectrum in Pakistan today. After a deep study, it left me confused about the current implication of the spectrum (left and right wingers)

can you elaborate on the Nato supply line a bit?

• well if its an acedemic project forget about Nato Supply Line.

I don't know what era you want to cover.I think its best if you start with Zia ul Haq's era.That was the time when Pakistan got a clear divide between right and left wing.Before that it was there but that was purly a defined intellectual divide.Zia's era not only made it more wide but also induced the concept of jihad against opposit wing.Not right or left just opposit.The idealogical defination of the wings may be a bit hard to define as during his Era, not only the politcal activities were under siege but also almost all school of thoughts related to any kind of cultural and religious debate were completly silenced.Only one "brand" of Islam was the only allowable mode of expression.The Afghan war also acted as a catalist to further romanticize the concept of orthodoxy and brending culture and debate a satanic virtue.

Post Zia era, the democratic period,(a brief period)brought some releif in terms of expressional liberty but both Nawaz Sharif and BB failed to progress on bridging the gat bewteen two extreme.Nawaz Sharif being a pupil of his Godfather and with religious back ground remained in the influence of hardcore ideas of Zia's era and BB traped in the Afghan War's outcome(Taliban).

Dear Leen,